Monster Truck Overkill Evolution was the overall winner for the Monster Truck competition. Monster Truck Overkill Evolution was the overall winner for the Monster Truck competition. Photo by Dale Calnan/Image Factor Media

Westbrook and DeMan Win on Insta-Insulation Monster Mash Night

Written by  Josh Gordon for Clayton Johns Media on Saturday, 09 September 2017 14:25

OHSWEKEN, Ont. – Sept 8, 2017 – Cool September temperatures did not put a damper on Insta-Insulation Monster Mash Night at Ohsweken Speedway on Friday as 42 sprint cars packed the pit area for the final races before the 13th Annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend. When the dust settled, it was Dylan Westbrook and Mack DeMan picking up feature wins.


Cory Turner set the pace early in the 20-lap Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Car feature as he jumped out to a lead over pole-sitter Tyler Hendricks.

Hendricks soon found himself skirmishing with Cory’s brother Ryan for second. The two engaged in a side-by-side battle for several laps, which prevented sixth-place starter and track champion Dylan Westbrook from moving into the top three.

On lap 8, Westbrook was finally able to sneak by Hendricks and Ryan Turner, and he immediately began to cut into Cory Turner’s sizeable lead.

Lapped traffic slowed Cory Turner, and by lap 10 Westbrook was already right on his tail. Westbrook expertly navigated the slowed cars by using a low line. He breezed by Turner coming out of turn 2 on lap 14 and cruised to rest of the way to pick up the win.


A scramble start meant that B-Main winner Brian Nanticoke started on the pole for the 20-lap Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Car feature. Nanticoke lined up next to Josh Shantz, who used his starting spot to his advantage, leading the first 17 laps.

Shantz’s lead was aided by three cautions in the first nine laps of the race. The yellows meant that he was able to hold off eight-place starter Mack DeMan, who had already moved up to second place.

On lap 17, after a long green flag run, DeMan flew by Shantz using the high side of the racetrack. Lapped traffic prevented any chance of a Shantz comeback in the final two laps as DeMan picked up the win.

Jesse McDonald, Hannah Ferrell, and Ryan Hunsinger fought tooth and nail for third place as Shantz and DeMan combatted for the lead. When checkered flew, McDonald edged Hunsinger for third. A broken nose wing cost Ferrell a shot at the podium, but she was still able to round out the top-five.


Two 12-lap mechanics races were run in each of the three weekly Ohsweken Speedway stock car divisions. Jesse McDonald and Kyle Magrin won the Middlesport Mechanical Thunder Stock races. Billy Schwartzenburg and Jeff Farnsworth were at the front of the pack when checkered flew in the two HRW Automotive features. Dustin Longboat and Archie DeBoer picked up victories in the Gale’s Auto Aftermarket Bomber mechanics races.


Monster trucks Overkill Evolution, Anger Management, and Black Stallion put on a show in between the features, crushing cars in the infield and catching major airtime. The wheelie competition, monster truck races, and freestyle sessions ensured that no car was safe in the Ohsweken infield as all three monster trucks were on a mission to destroy everything in sight.

YouTube star Tanner Fox also dazzled in his first ever appearance in a monster truck. Fox demolished a number of cars with Black Stallion in the infield after his meet and greet with the Ohsweken Speedway fans at the beginning of the night.

The 13th annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals is next weekend. The action gets started on Friday night with the Burger Barn Night Before the Nationals. The night will feature a pair of 15 lap A-Features for the 360 Sprint Cars, plus the Dave McLeod Memorial Shootout, Kevin Ward, Jr. Young Stars Challenge, and the Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks, HRW Automotive Mini Stocks, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket Bombers. Saturday night is the $12,000 to win Canadian Sprint Car Nationals, plus the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Scramble #2.

Tickets Available Now!
Advanced reserved seating tickets are on sale now for all of Ohsweken Speedway's 2017 major events, including the Northern Summer Nationals featuring Kyle Larson and Rico Abreu on July 24, the World of Outlaws Craftsman® Sprint Car Series Six Nations Showdown on July 25, the Triple Crown Showdown featuring Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modifieds on August 24, and the 13th annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals September 15-16 are on sale now! Visit or call 519-717-0023 to order and for more information. For the full 2017 schedule of events, click here.

About Ohsweken Speedway: Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Bombers, while the season finishes each year with the annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights, and has been a yearly stop on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series schedule since 2007.

Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support in 2017: Arrow Express, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Hoosier Tire Canada, EPIC Racewear, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Ackland Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Lucas Oil, Burger Barn, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, Insta-Insulation, Middleport Mechanical, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.


back to top