Rick Warnes (#90) sits third in Ontario Modifieds Racing Series points, just 25 markers out of the lead Rick Warnes (#90) sits third in Ontario Modifieds Racing Series points, just 25 markers out of the lead Jim Clarke – Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media

Ontario Modifieds Racing Series Returns to Peterborough Speedway

Written by  Jim Clarke on Monday, 10 July 2017 14:40

Peterborough, ON (July 10, 2017)- They’re called ‘racers’, but anyone turning a lap at a track anywhere in the province wants to be known by a different name. ‘Winner’.

From the first green flag of the 2017 season, the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series powered by Torque Builders Inc. has made headlines. Not just for the number of winners at the events on the tour, but for the winners who’ve claimed their first career checkered flags.

Heading into the next stop on the schedule, Saturday, July 15 at Peterborough Speedway, the series has had five different first-time main event winners in as many starts.

Randy Hollingsworth, who along with Rick Warnes and Bill Pickford, make-up the team of OMRS officials, says it’s a stat that has been creating a huge buzz in the racing community.

“Since the series began, our goal has been to provide an entertaining, highly competitive tour, while keeping costs under control for our teams,” Hollingsworth said. A quick look at the point standings so far this year says we’re heading in the right direction. We have different drivers who have yet to win a race, but are still within 45 points of top spot in the standings. And there are a couple of former champions in the roster who are still looking for a main event win. Our teams are putting a great product on the track, wherever we race.”

Duane Cinnamon – a former runner with what is now the Eastern Ontario Legends Series – got the ball rolling by winning the season opener Saturday, May 20 at Sunset. Brad Stevenson, Mark Gordon and Linc Brown scored Peterborough Speedway victories on May 27, June 10 and June 24, respectively. The most recent first-timer was Stu Robinson Jr., who claimed the Canada Day Special – Saturday, July 1 – at Flamboro Speedway.

Ontario Modifieds Racing Series standings:

#77 Brad Stevenson 286
#41 Duane Cinnamon 274
#90 Rick Warnes 261
#64b Chris Burrows 257
#4 Connor James 253
#95 Rob Warnes 251
#62 Randy Hollingsworth 241
#90s Craig Stevenson 215
#62w Willow Barberstock 206
#52 Mark Gordon 163
#63 John Baker Jr. 156
#68 Stu Robinson Jr. 112
#99 Linc Brown 96

Fans can find full series details at www.facebook.com/OMRS. Clarke Motorsports Communications is proud to represent the Ontario Modifieds Racing Series 2017 season.


Prepared by: Jim Clarke, Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., www.facebook.com/clarkemotorsports


back to top